Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4][WIP] The trial

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
xChris polycounter lvl 10
Hey all, long time since I've posted a wip thread here, I've been dabbing at this environment for a couple months whenever I have a little time. Its a trail leading up to a temple some time in the feudal japan era, possibly walking past some graves, to a final fight? Still ironing out the who, what, when as I make the basic assets like grass, trees, etc. 

I settled on a golden hour type lighting, post storm to get some interesting looking materials, after trying out some overcast, mid day etc. I'm not the best lighter but hope you guys can let me know what ya think. One of my goals for this project is to be more conscious of color palettes and  composition. Thinking the first part of the path should feel welcoming, and as you get closer to the temple (more graves, more signs of a battle that happened), the trees get more red indicating blood shed. 

All critiques welcome!

Current status: 

What I started out with a few weeks back:

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Looking cool, reminds me of one of my projects! A few things I'd point out; Tree leaves should have some variety with colour. Also, the transition from red tree to yellow tree is too sudden. I realize this is a WIP so I'm assuming you're working on both of these things? If you're going for a tertiary colour pallet, I feel changing the red trees to orange, so you would have orange and yellow trees, and then using red to attract to a focal point, would really help composition. Maybe if the pagoda or the temple was red?
  • xChris
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xChris polycounter lvl 10