Home Career & Education

Taking an art test - is this situation odd?

carrottoptw
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
carrottoptw polycounter lvl 4
Hey, I'm a fresh graduate and I sent my work to a games company the other day who were after a "character artist", I won't say the name of the company, but the job listing is still up on the artstation incase anyone fancied searching it yourself and giving me their thoughts on it.  The company got back to me saying they liked my work and that they would like me to take a 3 day art test.  I've initially said yes by email.

However in my rush and excitement to start applying for jobs I never actually vetted the company I was applying to whose asked for this test - I stupidly just sent my cv, cover letter, portfolio.  

Anyway I looked up the website of the company and there is literally nothing on it to even indicate what they do.  The careers sections has one other job posted below the one I had applied to and theres a contact page... other than that its almost blank.  The 'About' section of the site has 13 words about the company.  There are no images or showreel or anything to indicate past work/clients and no info about the company/ceo/team are there.

Whats more is the email I received from the boss started with a bizarre 10 worded way of selling their company to me followed by "...we would like you to take an art test.".  The boss made no mention of their past work and didn't ask me if I had any questions about the company, just a very brief few words about what the art test would entail ("concept, sculpt, texture") and what my availability for it was.  Lastly there was a line about there being over 100 applicants and how I am one of the few to be given the opportunity.  But I'm not sure how there could be 100 applicants if a company website doesnt have any info on it... then again it could be 100 desperate grads :D