Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Military Backpack - Italian Army

Hello there! I'm Dan from Italy , a long time videogame "addicted" guy and also trying to begin a new career in 3D Game Art industry , as many other tons of guy out there =)
I'm totally self-taught and bad in english grammatic rules. Forgive me for any mistakes about.

I just complete my last work , more precisely a study about more "complex" ( for me at least) geometry.
It's the first time I ask for critiques so be..... rude ! :D:+1:

Mainly I would appreciate every technical comment  , tips tricks can be useful in my future studying in 3D Arts.
Last  note! I'm 33 years old that starts study 3D game art 2 years ago and my biggest fear is my age  , too old to compete against more young and skilled guys?

Here follows some shot from marmoset and the  real-time model on Sketchfab :
Thanks in advice!

Replies

• pixelpatron
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pixelpatron polycounter
    Solid asset, nice job! I'd leave as is, yet do another version that looks "broken in" . Show the viewer some wear, worn edges, pins, stitched patch-worked patches, and possibly kitted out with canteen, military/Rambo knife or riffle holster. (Your current version seems very vanilla, and without any real defining characteristics/storytelling at this point). 

Good luck.
  • WHALEYAN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey there! I'm currently active military with close to 4 years in and I'm also a super noob when it comes to 3D. I just started over a month ago and I'm not part of the Italian military but maybe I can offer a few pointers for things that happen with wear and tear in the field.