Home Technical Talk

Is Maya good for making large levels or maps or should I just build it up in Unreal or Unity?

Irraka
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Irraka polycounter lvl 7
Hi I just want to preface this by saying I have very little skill or experience with Unreal Engine. It seems a bit intimidating but I wanted to create a large map that looks like it belongs in a video game for my portfolio as an 3d artist. I guess my first question is can Maya even pull off having a huge map like that? Would it be worth learning Unreal and just making the map playable and building it in Unreal? Let me know what you guys think!

Replies

• oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    Go with Unreal. Maya does not have the tools and in the end you have to export it anyways. 
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    oglu said:
    Go with Unreal. Maya does not have the tools and in the end you have to export it anyways. 

what tools are necessary? I am making some large archviz type scenes for static renders. Was using Marmoset toolbag and arranging in maya. I liked to do work in maya cause got the full range of snapping tools and easy gizmo. Whats benefit of doing in unreal specifically?

• oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    You wrote huge map. I thought you are going to create kilometers of terrain and vegetation for a game. If its for a still everything is fine. 
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Regarding a different project that has several static archviz style scenes. @oglu
  • icegodofhungary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    icegodofhungary interpolator