Home Technical Talk

Texture resolutions for movie character. How to fit UVs?

macke
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
macke polycounter lvl 3
I have a character that i would like to have at 2k resolution for texturing, but I don't know how to fit that in the 0-1 space of a 2048 map. The UV shells are so masive they won't fit even if using UDIMs. i'm new to this, so i may have misunderstood how this all works. Help please.

Replies

• oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    Just scale them down and use an 8k texture. Or do some UV cuts to make the shells smaller to make them fit into the UDIMs. 
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    What are you even talking about? UV layout is independent from texture resolution. You don't need "bigger" uvs for a 4k texture than for a 2k texture.
  • oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    @Obscura
    Yes and no. If you go with 4k textures but would need much much more resolution you need to cut your shells in smaller pieces to get the desired resolution on mutiple UDIMs. 
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok the udim part I understand, that could need more cuts in order to properly lay out. But to fit this stuff in 0-1 space for any resolution, you don't need any of that. Also, just use 8k is not the best advice, lets be honest. 

Your answer is kind of misleading. It kinda sounds like you need different layout and scales for different resolutions.
  • Dihemi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dihemi polycounter lvl 2