Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Medieval Castle - University Final Major Project

mwoods94
triangle
Offline / Send Message
mwoods94 triangle
Hey guys!

I'm a university student and currently onto the second week of development for my final major project, I'm hoping to use this thread to gather feedback and improve my art and create a successful portfolio piece. All critque is welcome! No matter how harsh :) 

So I'd like to start with the general idea of the project. By combining two concept arts that I think are fantastic, I can visualise an epic exterior environment that is within the walls of a huge castle, with a looming and gracious keep in the background towering over everything. Giving that fantasy esence. References: (https://www.artstation.com/artwork/rRGkG5) and (https://www.artstation.com/artwork/Pk5o4).

Again i'd like to state that this concept was the combination of two pieces of art that was already created. This is just to provide me with a visual aid.

This then led to the blockout of the castle.

The various modular components that I will need.

Feedback from my tutors have told me to try and make it look less modern, removing the fencing and modernised fantasy buildings and focus on creating something more medieval and used. This is something that I will address once I've finished the modular components to the buildings.
Below shows my progress with the modular houses, something I hadn't done before and I'm still getting my heads around how to create it truely modular. 

There's a lot of problems with the modularity, I got carried away trying to match the high poly, that i completely overlooked how each piece should be merging together. I don't like how it looks like small pieces of logs thrown together, ignoring physics. I think I might have to re-do the walls which messes up my schedule, what do you think? restart certain areas or move on and edit later?

Thanks in advance! :) 

Replies

• mwoods94
    Offline / Send Message