Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UN4] Breakdown Of Environment Level "Escape"

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
stevenzhu polycounter lvl 5

Hi all, my name is Steven Zhu, I am a graduate student at SCAD, This is my first post in Polycount. so today i want to share my personal work "Escape" with you.

https://vimeo.com/395372797

This is the link to the cinematic video.

As a big fan of “Prometheus” and “Alien” series, I have always wanted to make a project that is related to it. To challenge myself, I had decided to make it in different stages ”before” and “after”. It was something i have never done before.

Reference

Having that in mind, I started to gather some references from the internet. I looked up a lot of alien category movies, tried to get some idea of what the alien creatures and space station would look like. These are some of the references I found useful. I quite enjoy looking at these dark references. I have always enjoyed the dark Sci-fi stuff. I want to make my environment express two completely different moods. Storytelling was my main focus. Being able to tell stories through a piece of art, I think it's the biggest achievement for an artist.

Sketch

In my opinion, It's very important for an artist to visualize work on the paper first. After collecting hundreds of reference pics, I started to draw some pencil sketches on the paper.

From here, I tried to get an overall look of my level for both stages.

3D Modeling

After having a general idea of what the level would potentially look like, I began my next process which is modeling. In here, I used maya and zbrush for all the modular hard-surfaces and organic models.

White boxing