Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Beginner modeler - firearm model

polygon
Offline / Send Message
Boosted24v polygon
So I guess you could say I have no experience at all, I only started doing this about a 3 1/2 weeks ago. My goal is to be able to create assets for an PC FPS game I want to make. I've watched countless hours of youtube videos and tried to apply the knowledge in my work but sought out a platform where I could now have people critique what I've made for further improvement in skill. So I started out modeling a SIG SAUR M17/P320. I've completely remodeled it four times and retextured it three times to where I'm fairly impressed, but I know it can be so much better.
I use Blender to model and substance painter for textures.

PS: The first two renders are in Substance Painter's Iray render engine and the 3rd render is in Blender's cycles engine. I'm not terribly positive why they look so different but assuming the environment has a good amount to do with it.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Did you make a high poly model/sculpt of the gun?
  • Boosted24v
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Boosted24v polygon
    No I haven't, that's it. Though I'm not entirely sure what further detail could be achieved with a higher poly model but that is why I sought to seek out the knowledge and critique of the more experienced. For all I know there could be tonssss more to do haha. But I'm defiantly trying to piece it all together. 
  • teodar23
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    Google chamferzone's tutorials or other gun tuts with hipoly to low poly baking.
  • Boosted24v
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Boosted24v polygon
    teodar23 said:
    Google chamferzone's tutorials or other gun tuts with hipoly to low poly baking.