Home Technical Talk

Marvelous Designer & Maya Advanced Skeleton issues

Alex_the3DRookie
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Alex_the3DRookie polycounter lvl 3
Hi everyone, 

This is my first post, I was willing to do an introduction but right now I'm in a bit of an emergency for a class project. I'm a student so forgive if I'm asking obvious things. I've done some research but I can't seem to find any solution. Here goes the issue:

I've modeled a character and a friend has done the rigging using the Advanced Skeleton plugin for Maya. (We're using Maya 2020) He's also done the animation. I'm now doing the clothing simulation in Marvelous Designer 9 (5.1.311 version) and we're having serious issues. The character is in a sort of A-Pose (Not really the best pose) but we can't get the rig exported properly to MD. When we export it there's some serious issues in the model itself in MD looks all screwed up not even the joints show up. Exporting just the mesh works but then still no joints in MD (makes sense).
I tried some tests with creating a geometry cache and alembic export of the animation itself, works fine but then we fight another issue:

We are working in metres (in Maya), when importing the mcc cache or alembic, we set it up to metres, then the animation played is at a HUGE scale, like 100x. If I import the fbx mesh in its original pose (no animation), same settings (to metres) then it will read correctly. When I import the animation also if I scrubb around the animation without playing it, it reads correctly the scale when I get it to a certain keyframe. However when I hit play it gets huge again no matter what I do. I've tried cm and....it reads 100x smaller as well as "auto scale". I can't seem to get it to the correct scale, main mesh with no animation works perfect.