Home Career & Education

3D Artist looking to Specialize, but HOW and WHERE?

Hi there y'all!
I guess this kind of posts have been talked over and over, andsorry for that, but here I go again:

So I've been working as 3D Artist now for almost 3 years now (including an internship), although the work experience has been in a couple indie-ish small studios. You know, like where you do lots of different stuff and cover several aspects of the production. I've been mostly using 3ds Max/Maya, Substance Suite, Adobe Suite, Zbrush, Unity and UE mostly.
The thing is that lately I wanted to start getting into some bigger studios to keep learning and growing while getting better, and I found myself in a point that I felt I wasn't good enough for the level they need. I made it through some interviews but in the end never passed any art test.

So after some time of reflection, I decided I should recycle myself and start trying to specialize and focusing on one particular area to get THICC and STRONK on that, pushing my portfolio to get those Junior / Mid opportunities in bigger studios.

Aaaand here's when 2 facts come into play. The first is that I feel I'm getting "old" and also feel I'm getting late to this train of pushing my portfolio and getting into studying to reach those Junior / Mid roles (i'm 28 years right now).
The second question that I make myself is what should I specialize into, Character or Environment art? I know the first one is extremely competitive and less looked after, while the other may offer more flexibility as a professional. Being honest with myself, I came to conclude that I really love both disciplines, but maybe Character Art is 50.1% and Environment is 49.9%. So I'm currently focusing hardcore on anatomy in Zbrush, to see if I can bring believable characters to the table, then I would consider going for Character Art.