Home Career & Education

Have trouble getting art (fx) done

Sparrow_In_Dungeon
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Sparrow_In_Dungeon polycounter lvl 3
Hey people, I'm having trouble getting any project done. I started learning 3D about 2 years ago and simulations were kinda my thing so I mostly focused on houdini but still managed to try and "learn" the whole pipeline for both movies and games. Some time ago I felt like I was way past the total beginner phase of doing just static renders of explosions, particles, etc... I wanted to make something that would be presentable to anyone, not just other artists, so as someone who loves movies and stories, I decided to do a few shots (less than 1 min. running time for the whole thing) from the ground up mostly (except rocks, trees, and other minor things). The problem is that I'm not a big fan of modeling so by the time I half-finished the first prop, the story grew while I procrastinated and in the end I just did some half-assed fx rnd and decided that the scene may be too valuable to just show it alone because maybe in future I would be able to show the whole thing (at least the visuals). This happened with all projects that followed until I just decided to cut the story(ies) into shorts and plan them out. But a bad mindset has taken over me, that I'm waay overdue with the project so I set an unrealistic deadline and hit a hard wall whenever I try to start it. It's even worse now, being indirectly affected by the virus, I'm constantly thinking how could I make money from it (and my skills) on top of trying to figure out how to pull it off rather quickly. I still think it would be a great way to satisfy my creative side and also generate material for a reel. I don't think I have a choice except to work from home, but I doubt any studio would hire a junior fx artist right now.