Home Technical Talk

Has virtual reality changed the way you make 3D art?

Hey! I'm a programmer, not an artist, and I just spent the last few months supporting the development of a tiny (and, finally, published!) VR title.

We're a two-person team, and neither one of us had loads of experience in the visual side of game development. So, I guess I'm looking to expand my horizons a bit... have VR-based tools changed the way you make art? Do VR games call for different models/shaders? Or are things more or less the same?

Replies

• gnoop
    Offline / Send Message
    gnoop sublime tool
    About tools working in VR if it's what you are asking about.   
    Content creation tools themselves  even decades later after their initial born  are still monstrously inconvenient and showing very little if any sign of getting better, more logical or elegant.
    You spend a life digging through its utter mess usually.    

Adding to all that hassle a huge square thing  on your head , no way sorry.    Would be a little hard to hit your head against a wall  I think   :)

• Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Its pretty much the same. Pixel shaders are more expensive due to the bigger resolution overall.
  • poopipe
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    Fundamentally it's the same.  there are no genuinely useful VR content creation tools outside of the layout and visualisation stages so vr itself doesn't really affect asset pipelines. 

If you're doing VR properly (ie making an effort to stop people puking)  then there is a significant impact on the details of how things need to be implemented.  This seems to be brushed under the carpet by most developers (probably because they aren't prepared to spend the money my last studio did on 'human trials') 
  • corc0
    gnoop said: