Home Career & Education

Where to go from here (Character artist career advice)

Hey everyone,

I just wanted to ask a few questions about the outlook of my career as I do feel pretty lost atm. 

I graduated in December with a degree (Information Tech) and a diploma (applied art) from a reputable university with a program that taught me how to be a generalist. Learned a lot, but honestly, not much of it was relevant to 3D, and more specifically character art, which I started specializing in and learning starting about a year ago. Despite all the schooling, my 3D skillbase is almost completely self-taught ($40 000 later). I did however learn how to do a lot of programming over a wide range of languages, but its seriously not my interest. Might be useful down the road, though I guess. 

After a series of tragedies in my immediate family, I moved back to my home city to spend time with my family, passively applying for jobs, with no interviews. I started freelancing, and although its going much better than I expected, I'm probably grossing less than a thousand canadian dollars a month, which is not sustainable (I want to be working in a studio anyway). 

I'm looking out for advice from some of the more experienced individuals in here. My relative skill level can be seen here https://www.artstation.com/ryansylvester

If you were me, what actions would you be taking to get that career started? I recognize that I might not be able to get a job as a character artist to start, but do hope to end up there at some point. I am wondering if I am anywhere near hireable at this stage or if I shouldn't be worrying about employment and instead focusing 100% of my energy on my portfolio/freelance/skill development for the time being.

If you took the time to read through this, I appreciate it. Any advice would really be helpful.
Thank you.

Replies

• Meloncov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth