Home Career & Education

New to 3D completely

I’m a new member and this is my first post.
I currently use an iPad Pro (2018, 1TB 12.9”) and I use Forger App. I’m planning to get a PC and learn with blender at first (or zbrush depending on my funds). But I’m a 2D artist and I’m wanting to learn 3D for fun, for my own personal work more so. 
What kind of tips could people give me on this subject? It feels like I’m at a disadvantage doing 3D coming from a 2D background, since some people I know who do 3D don’t do 2D or don’t draw at a (for lack of a better word) decent level; think stick figures or what some would draw at elementary or middle school.
I mostly watch youtubers who work with blender or zbrush or a combination of those programs but my iPad is what I have currently since my only computer is a 2013 MacBook Pro 13” (i7 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, intel 4000 graphics)
My goals for 3D are mostly to just make attractive faces and busts of characters/my characters 

So my question is do you have any tips on how I could improve my skill? Is there a way to kind to “sketch” before hopping into a sphere? Is there anything noticeable from my work that is a red flag for what I shouldn’t do?

I don’t understand much of the technical stuff about 3D or what rendering is or any technical terms so if you could use plain language or commonly used language so I could google the definitions it’d be appreciated.

images: the sketch is an OC of mine; the more filled out model is my first attempt at sculpting a face from February; the last image is my most recent attempt (I thought trying to make an anime girl would be easier than going for something more realistic)

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Reproduce the Asaro Head.

That'd be a simple project that should teach you everything you need to technically know.