Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Underground Bunker

Hi!
This is my very first time posting here on polycount forums so bear with me please! =)
So I have been working on this environment in UE4 and there is still a loooong way to go so I wanted some critiques and guidelines to help me do a better job. I know the titles says "underground" but so far I only managed to create the above ground part. Eventually there will be a hatch in the boxy building that will lead to an old looking but still operational bunker below ground.
 (The burned car is not mine. I downloaded it)
https://sketchfab.com/3d-models/electric-pole-8da08c1c82d34e599d50aa9b10706617
(one of the props in sketchfab)
I was going for a post apocalyptic theme but not one where everything is crumpled and destroyed. There is still some civility left but not so much. I don't have any explanation for why there is still electricity but I thought it might look cool to have a light in this overcast lighting setup.
Any suggestions and criticism is appreciated. Thanks in advance for your time.  

Replies

• Pirax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pirax triangle
    Composition for this shot is good. Also like the powerlines and reactors in the background as secondary detail.
    I'd say consider the theme a bit more for more details and see if you can add more stuff in the foreground that makes it more readable from a viewers perspective. I confused as what sort of apocalypse you were going for initially.

The current signs for radiation blend in too much which leads me to also say there needs to be a bit more contrast between your darker and lighter areas. At the moment the details feel placed all in the second and third layer of the scene whilst the foreground is a little bare. If you can create more storytelling in the foreground it helps make sense of the middle and background more :)

Hope this helps!
  • teodar23
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool