Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Escaping Deméter - Game/Personal project

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Totozoos polycounter lvl 2
Hello, my name is Gastón, I am a 37 year old archviz artist with nearly 15 years of experience working in the field. I never worked on the game industry and have 0 experience at making games or game art. That being said, games are my passion since I was a child and I would've loved to work in the game industry but when I started learning 3D, games related careers in my country were a no go :( so I ended up doing archviz unfortunately ;).
I have been learning Unreal for archviz stuff and its been about three or four years that I switched my learning sources from archiviz to game related content and I am so happy I did so, because I learned so much since then. 
So I got to this point were I know a thing or two about unreal, feel somewhat comfortable with blueprints (cero coding knowledge) and have a general idea of how to produce game art, that I decided to try my luck at making a game.
I started with a story, or guidelines to a story, to have something to start with and start blocking out some stuff. I obviously work on this on my spare time so my general workflow is "I do what I feel like doing at the moment"... 
The context is a mini openworld scenario and the idea for the game is about surviving to an alien planet harsh environment while solving puzzles and problems to stay alive, the ultimate goal is to escape the planet. You will have to go and explore various farming settlements and industrial sites on the map that will help you during your quest. I will show more about the story once I have more context to better explain whats going on (and mostly once I clarify some ideas myself).