Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Cyberpunk Elf Bust (WIP), Looking for CC

Hello folks, I'm new to Polycount and I'm hoping that you might lend me some of your expertise. I've trying to improve my skills with ZBrush by sculpting a female cyberpunk elf character bust, which I intend to 3D print. I don't have much experience in making female characters, and I'm not sure what about the anatomy of my sculpt I might change to make it more feminine. This is also my first time messing with IMM hair brushes, and I'd appreciate any tips you may have for creating better hair geometry.  I'd appreciate any comments you have. Thanks for taking a look.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    You need to bring down the resolution of the face and focus on nailing the planes of the face first, like using the Asaro Planar head.  Right now your  primary forms feel incredibly lumpy (i.e. the major planes of the face and their transitions.)

What references are you using for the head?  What's your concept art?  Or mood board at least?
  • Teckdragon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback Brian.
     I see what your talking about with the lumpiness.  I've got a few references pulled up in a PureRef doc for help with the hairstyle and elf features. I'm not working off of any one concept, which may be contributing to my muddy anatomy. If the issues are in finding the planes should I try using something like Trim Dynamic to find the planes, and then rebuild the rest of face? I'll attach my ref board below.
  • HarlequinWerewolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HarlequinWerewolf polycounter
    Your moodboard is cool, but you need some solid anatomy references in there to help get the general face shape in. Once you have the planes of the face, you can push and pull them (within reason) to make her more unique/stylised. 

• Teckdragon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message