Home Adobe Substance

GPU rendering Substance Painter Iray possible?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
KotBigimot polycounter lvl 3
Hey guys,

My pc has 16 gb ram. my graphics card (GeForce RTX 2080) has 8 gb as well. But when I render in Substance Painter my memory goes up to 98% at at some point. The CPU is maxed out, but my GPU is just sitting there at 0%.

Anybody know what i can do about it? I checked some settings but can't find any gpu rendering options. I do really like the look of Iray renders, so if there'd be a solution for this in Substance Painter I would be really happy with that. I'm still new with all of this so any tips and advice is welcome!

Replies

• Dihemi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dihemi polycounter lvl 2
    Substance painter's Iray does use the GPU (unless you're using an older GPU), it doesn't show in you task manager because it uses Cuda cores (iirc, can't check on current pc). Under your Task manager's Performance tab, change the GPU's graph to show cores' performance and you should see some spikes.
  • oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    Yes, the Taskmanager isnt a reliable source.
    Use GPUz instead.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    If there are errors or the GPU flags something it will fail and revert to CPU. Output out the log from within SP and have a look in the text file for errors.
    This was happening to me because I had set the displacement subdivs way too high by mistake and the GPU ram maxed out without me knowing. I was able to see this in the log file.
    Make sure your GPU is enabled in the global settings. If you are rendering on a 2080 you should notice a significant speed increase.
  • KotBigimot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not sure if now replying to one or all, but thanks a lot for the answers everybody. I didn't know task manager wasn't reliable, I'll try the suggested program.