Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modeling Reel

Hello!
I'm a student currently working on finalizing her demo reel, here's a draft of how it's looking so far. Much that still needs to be fixed, but I would appreciate any feedback, Thank you!  =)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rmc-lwpNcNs

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey, here are some things I've picked up from your reel;

1) As an enviro artist, start showing stills on ArtStation, not on a reel.
    2) The wood grain in all your texturing doesn't run with the mesh, or doesn't run the right way.
    3) You're either not beveling or your bevels are way too small.
    4) The amount of polygons that your wall has at 0:55 is way too high, I don't understand why you have that many.
    5) The food stand is super cute. The poly count of various objects, though, is way out of wack. Are you using sub-d or are these game ready meshes? Some parts I can see the polygons, whereas other parts have a super high poly smooth look.
    6) Pumpkin guy is super cute, but you'll want to start on ZBrush if you aim for this sort of stuff. Also, the topology needs a lot of work.

Keep going! I think you have a great artistic eye :)
  • Amota000
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hello! thank you so much for your feedback,

1) I will definitely be posting on art station soon
    2) & 3) can you tell me for which project specifically you're referring to for these, thank you

4) That was cause i had a displacement map on it (first time i had used them and i didn't know they would make the polygons that high) will be switching to just a normal map and will re-render.