Home Career & Education

How has the corona virus affected your work arrangment?

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
NikhilR polycounter
So far in Montreal, it seems likely that most studios are seriously considering remote work for a short period, though this might be extended.
As a freelancer I've always had flexible hours so besides my day job that might also face a bit of a dry spell, its work as usual.

Has the corona virus encouraged your studio to consider a remote work arrangement? Once the madness ends, do you feel that this arrangement should continue if it works out well for everyone?

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    Yes

And

No, because working in isolation is a shit way to work as a team. 

• NikhilR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NikhilR polycounter
    poopipe said:
    Yes

And

No, because working in isolation is a shit way to work as a team. 

Maybe it works out for some departments in a manner similar to what we have with outsourcing?
  • Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    It's possible to work remotely, but it has a lot of advantages to share office space. There will always be outsourcer or single cases and cooperation between studios in different locations, but it comes at a cost and is by far not as efficient was working at the same place. I don't see the Coronavirus changing any of that. Maybe some small shifts in mindsets will be made through new experiences, but its not like studios have been too dumb to analyze the costs and benefits before without a global pandemic. Remote work is not a novelty in this industry.
  • NikhilR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NikhilR polycounter
    Biomag said: