Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Retro Garage Environment [UE4]

LJ_Sully
triangle
Offline / Send Message
LJ_Sully triangle
"On a stormy Cornish night, in the early hours of the morning, the Blowing House garage lets a lonely car creep inside. Even in the sleepiest of countryside towns, there’s plenty of dark machinery working under the hood."

Hello, I'm a third year student studying game development, specializing in Environment art. I have recently started a new personal project for my portfolio with specific goals behind it.
  • Realistic PBR rendered scene

• Environmental storytelling in aid of coherent narrative

• Focus on atmosphere, ambience and interior lighting

I live in Falmouth, and many stormy nights I walk past a small town garage in the pouring rain. I really liked the atmosphere and aesthetic of this garage at night, and ended up deciding to base my next project over it. The idea of taking the mundane and making it intriguing was really interesting to me. I looked around on artstation, and found Clinton Crumpler’s ‘King Wash Laundromat’ was a good example of taking something everyday and using atmosphere and subtle storytelling to coat it in intrigue.

The most important thing with mood and tone in a night-time scene is the colour palette, and lighting. Colour vibrance, saturation and contrast range are so thought about in films, art, and games, so before I even started my project I wanted to plan this out to get the mood of the piece nailed.

I looked at Edward Hopper's colour palette, as he is a master of story-telling, and evocative, lonely environments.

I then played with the colour balance of a photo of the garage to get the colour contrast and vibe I wanted, and sampled a colour palette for it.