Home Career & Education

Where to study 3D Animation in Europe?

I want to study 3D Animation, but here in germany it's quite hard to find a place and get accepted. Most offers are from private schools and are expensive af and as far as i know: not worth it. I would rather work half time as a barkeeper and eat tutorials all day before going to a private school.

But being able to learn 3D Animation in a university would be great. Besides a hand full in germany and a well known in Denmark, do you have any recommendations here in Europe? I found an university in France but their english website is always offline. If I could decide it, i would also be open to study in Asia or America, but i think it's hard to survive there without the funding from the state.

Replies

• Smiling_Neko
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If it's just about obtaining the skills, you don't really need university. There are a lot of self-taught artists. I went to one of those private ones you mentioned (also in Germany) and here are my experiences:

- it's really great for developing discipline and working in a team
    - you get instant help and feedback if you need it
    - if you're a competitive type of person you'll be driven to not just get good grades but also build a decent portfolio
    - not all programs offer student licences and you can use and work with those at university

BUT (and this is where I get a bit subjective)

- point 3 is solely up to you and you can get the same result without university if you're really serious about it
    - despite lectures, most of my skills are self-taught, meaning if I hadn't sat down all day after lecture I wouldn't have gotten any results - my point is that many students have gotten decent grades but have sub-par portfolios that can't be compared to anything in the industry and the students who have better ones usually don't have them BECAUSE of attending university but because of the time they put in in their free-time