Home Technical Talk

[3DS Max] Spherical objects… are there better ways to model this?

Lights
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Lights polycounter lvl 3

Hey there guys, I’m new to Polycount and just looking for a little guidance. I’m in my last semester of art school and I’m currently putting together a character/prop modeling portfolio.

One thing I wanted to get you guys opinion on was how you would go about modeling the body here. I went in and used booleans and some slice plane action to try and get the holes where I wanted, but I’m just wondering if there are better ways to do this that don’t lead to such messy topology.

Concept by Mole Wang:

Any and all tips are welcome. I have more of the concept blocked out, so if more images of that would help let me know. Thanks a lot!

Replies

• Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    always keep the clean spherical base, you can retopo or project right onto it. you do not have to follow the original topology this way
  • Lights
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lights polycounter lvl 3
    Neox said:
    always keep the clean spherical base, you can retopo or project right onto it. you do not have to follow the original topology this way
    Hey thanks for the reply. Okay so what your saying is just make sure I have the clean sphere as back up but otherwise what I'm doing is fine. Just want to make sure I understood correctly. 
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If this is an asset meant for use in a game engine, this topology isn't great.

But if you're not using it for real-time, instead rendering stills/animation, then it's probably ok.
  • Ghogiel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghogiel greentooth
    Lights said:
    Neox said:
    Hey thanks for the reply. Okay so what your saying is just make sure I have the clean sphere as back up but otherwise what I'm doing is fine. Just want to make sure I understood correctly.