Home Career & Education

Some Guidance would be appreciated

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi so I am aspiring 3D artist. I've got my Diploma in 3D animation and I am in my final year for my Bachelors Degree. I am in a safe space this year due to me having loads of free time and no external stress factors. I want some guidance on how I can spend this year as proactively as I can and I'll be transparent as possible.

Here is my portfolio:
timdesign.artstation.com

So I'm aware that my portfolio needs a lot of work. I'm comfortable in Maya and Substance painter and very proficient with Photoshop. Currently learning ZBrush through a FlippedNormals course, planning to learn some other software as well. 

So here's my goal. I want to be able to work as a 3D artist in-house or within the industry, basically anywhere that'll help me grow as an artist. I'm more of a generalist at the moment and I haven't found the particular field I want to specialize in yet. This could be because I want to be skilled in numerous different areas as an artist and believe with enough time and effort I can acquire said skills. I find character design interesting but fear that the 3D industry might be over saturated with character artists. I can also see my myself working as an environment or prop artist. 

I want to make the best out of this year so I want to know how I can do that. What are some things I should keep in mind? Do I have any naive misconceptions that I should let go of?  

I'm acutely aware of how much I still have to learn including anatomy and other fundamentals, but I'm willing and hungry to learn.  

Replies

• defragger
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    defragger sublime tool
    Hi there,

regardless of specialization (character or props) you should learn high-poly -> low-poly (retopo) / baking workflow.