Home Adobe Substance

Strange edges in Substance Painter, please help me.

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
KotBigimot polycounter lvl 3
Hey guys,

I have searched around how to solve this, but I'm quite new to 3d modeling and texturing, and don't even know what to call the problem I have here.

The model is imported from ZBrush. My textures look weird on some,but not all edges. This (red circle) is a perfectly straight, sharp edge in ZBrush. But comes out like this in Substance Painter. I think it's not the UV-mapping, that looks pretty good and even..right?

What am I doing wrong? And how do i solve it? (preferably inside Substance Painter so I don't have to start over with the texturing...)

If anybody can help me out, if only by telling what this problem is called, i'd be super grateful!

Replies

• CheeseOnToast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CheeseOnToast greentooth
    Can you show an image with the model's wireframe on? Either in Painter, or in Zbrush with Draw Polyframe on?
    I suspect it's an issue with vertex normals and triangulation.

The good news is that Painter is projection based. Even if you completely retopologize the model and redo its UVs, as long as it's the same size and position in space you won't lose the work you've done texturing.
  • KotBigimot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you so much for answering me!

I'm not totally sure, but this is what you were asking for, right?

It was about half a million polygons, so i decimated it. I wanted to Zremesh it, but then i lost all the little details and even contour shape (and without contour shape i can not properly project the high poly version onto the low poly version). I didn't know how to fix it so I tried to export without doing it.

I completely forgot about it until you mentioned it now. So I guess that's were I was going wrong then? How do I fix it though? And how do i save my Painter projection to apply it again after retopology?

• Kanni3d