Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Outdoor environment "Wind Mills"

Ace
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Ace polycounter lvl 8
Hello everyone!
I wish I had the courage to posted the W.I.P threads but I recently just wrapped up a project I've been working on for 3 months.

Artstation post:
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/0XxdLK

Wanted to challenge myself with actually completing something to compliment the last year or two of mindless dead projects. Saw "Wind Mills" by Raphael Lacoste and decided I wanted to use it as a concept for a project
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/xl9Xm

Two biggest things in this project for me was learning how to setup foliage in a open scene,
and setting up a skybox or clouds as I've never done either of those before!

Outside of the grass all assets and textures were made by myself in Blender and the Substance Suite. The buildings are a mix of a pretty basic tiling texture and a trimsheet made in substance designer. I was going to add more detail to the texture, but somehow the detail got lost with distance. I'm not quite sure how to handle that yet.

The grass is Megascans (meadow pack).
I decided not to create original foliage in this project so I can assure I understood how to have a decent material setup foliage in UE4. Picked up a lot of knowledge in regards to LODs and ended up trashing the default LODs that came with the megascan and substitute it with my own.

My next step will definitely be learning how to create my own original assets in regards to vegetation. I consider myself a more hardsurface artist up until this point, so it was a fun and frustrating learning something new for sure!

I'm not smart enough to know how to do ray-marched/volumetric clouds so I relied on simple cards for this scene.

The clouds were greyscale for the base diffuse multiplied by a color in the UE4 material.
It was a bit tedious having to change the color everytime I updated the lighting in the scene.