Home Unreal Engine

Questions - lighting and atlas for portfolio

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
i_like_turtles polycounter lvl 4
Hello!

I started learning UE4 a couple weeks ago, and I'm on a quest to finish some environment portfolio pieces. Right now I'm almost finishing modeling a small Italian town street. I have 2 questions:

1- How useful is to focus in lightmap baking for portfolio? Considering that nowadays a lot of AAA games are using dynamic lighting (or a mix with static), for my first pieces would it be better to keep them dynamic? I imagine it can cut a lot of time to get nice results, also considering that for portfolio you have the luxury to go a bit higher with mesh density / texture size to show more detail. I feel that I would take at least 1 extra week unwrapping lightmaps and solving problems, as I never did that before in UE4 except for some small tests.

2- Is it normal to combine all the decals you need in a single texture atlas and still use them as deferred decals? Maybe with a texture cropping or texture offset function? Is it worth it performance-wise or better using single decals for everything?

3- Is it possible/viable to combine main texture maps in atlases and still keep them tileable? For example, if I have 4x 1k maps (like ground texture, brick wall, wood planks and roof) and want to combine all of them in a 2k map but still make each quarter of the atlas tileable for the respective objects, how should it be approached?

Thanks a lot!
Cheers

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter