Home Career & Education

What are peoples opinions on Artstation websites?

Pirax
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Pirax triangle
I'm interested to really hear the thoughts on Artstation websites, from two perspectives really.
Artists who use them themselves, how is the customisation for you? The ease of use? Are there advantages to other hosting sites for you?

And then from recruiters. Without meaning to offend I remember having guests come in to our university and slander websites like squarespace and carbonmade for professional purposes, is this valid criticism? Do the Artstation sites fall outside of this bracket?

For me as an artist I'm definitely swaying towards the PRO subscription as its all very streamlined with a blog and a website, and it conveniences me to have somewhere that will output to my other social media platforms on a per update basis.

Thanks for any input anyone may have on this topic

Replies

• zachagreg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zachagreg ngon master
    Are you a web designer? No? Then why are you designing a website? I experienced the same. My professors would tell me to get a domain and a design a website, industry vets would tell me to just use Artstation. If someone looks at your designed website and it looks like crap it ends there. There is no look at your art. Recruiters simply have to sift through too much from what I've heard.

Basically you don't want to give anyone looking at your portfolio any reservations about you. You don't specialize in web design or graphic design, many people pay for those things for good reasons. It takes time and effort to learn and do those things well. Like any art. Focus on your art and let Artstation's hired specialized employees worry about the design of your website.