Home Technical Talk

[Maya] skin wrap modifier from 3dsmax to maya - similar process ?

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
mihail.lupu polycounter lvl 11
Does anyone know a way to achieve something like Skinwrap modifier function from 3ds max inside of Maya? 
I need in Maya to "skinwrap" some belts, saddle holsters, etc to the character body - then to convert, somehow this assets to skin.

I am pretty new to Maya, i am a native max user.

Thanks in advance!
ML.

Replies

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    There's a wrap deformer that works similar to the Skin Wrap modifier, I believe you can have multiple of these to get the functionality from Max where it lets you select multiple influences.

No idea if it can be converted to skinning, perhaps if you're lucky. But standard procedure with Maya is to first: (unsuccessfully) look for a script, second (inevitable step): post a job ad for a TD. :) 

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    Just found this: https://polycount.com/discussion/37382/maya-wrapdeform-to-skin to prove my point. Sadly, I don't think I have the script anymore. But, perhaps there's now a builtin way? :)

• mihail.lupu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh, thanks. Sadly, the script isn't up anymore. On the other hand, i can't believe maya doesn't have this kind of tool builtin. The main idea is I have to export the final mesh to a game engine, so it has to be skinned. Wrap deformer will work only inside of maya. 
    Maybe there is someone else how can share another technique for this kind of task.
    Thanks thomasp!
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    Ha! Here's to keeping a searchable catalog of ancient compressed backups: https://pastebin.com/U3U3MG8K

I don't have Maya installed though - no way for me to confirm if this (still) works.

• mihail.lupu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message