Home Technical Talk

Need help for Exporting OBJ, Baking Textures, Creating Alpha Hair Maps.

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hello there, I'm new here and I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post this topic. This will be quite a long post, but I seriously need help :(

I've been working on a personal project ever since I graduated back in June 2019. I'm trying to create a decent AAA quality recreation of Adam Taurus from RWBY. Yes it may sound very ambitious when I'm aiming for a AAA quality this early since I'm very much a beginner and I only started learning Maya and ZBrush back in 2018 but I'm still trying my best to make an acceptable output for a portfolio since I prefer doing realistic characters. I learned this current skills of mine through watching in YT tutorials, Skillshare tutorials and the 2 Udemy Courses I purchased. This will be my first 3D character for games in my portfolio and I'm in a bit hurry to finish it so I can apply for a job. 

So far, my progress is that I have made all the low-poly meshes (Base Body + Garments + Mask + Hair) I needed with high-poly subdivision inside in ZBrush. I have put alpha textures to the garments, not sure what Alpha texture I'll use for the mask though, same for the shoes. I'm yet to learn how to put proper alpha textures for the skin. 

I have created the low poly meshes as well for the weapon, Wilt and Blush. I had to put the Scabbard in a Lv. 7 Subdivision to sculpt the Rose symbol in it. Alpha textures are all ready as well for both Scabbard and Sword.

My biggest problem is that I only have a laptop that has low-med end specs. I use both Marmoset Toolbag (Height, Roughness, Metalness etc...) 3 and XNormal (Normals, AO) to generate the maps. I'll be using Photoshop to create the texture designs on the back of Adam's coat, mask, and the piece of cloth beside his hip. I am yet to learn Substance or Mari for additional knowledge of Texturing.