Home Career & Education

Hired based off of certain software knowledge?

Do studios hire based on what particular software you know? For instance, Substance designer is industry standard but I can get the exact same results in Photoshop using PBR workflow as someone in Designer can, and in the same amount of time. Would I be allowed to create tileable materials in PS or would I be forced to learn Designer? This is about Designer specifically. Though this question can be applied to any software. (I am an environment artist student btw)

Replies

• oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    You cant do a PBR workflow in the same time in PS vs Painter. 
    Painter is a requirement in a lot of modern game pipelines. There is no Photoshop at all.
  • Pirax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pirax triangle
    I find that people tend to hire the artist for their art, rather than the software they know.
    They can always mold a good artist into a new tool rather than reinforce good practices to a lesser artist.
    In saying that if you have two equal artists and one happens to fit into X companies pipeline easier then it's logical for the company to employ the person who can more easily adapt into the workflow. 
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter