Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] X-23 (3D Character Art) - Looking for critique

HorizonWave
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
HorizonWave polycounter lvl 2
Hello all! I really would like to get good at character modeling for AAA games and wanted to work on a project of a character I thought was cool so I picked X-23. Im still learning and reading as many tutorials as I can. If you have comments or critique, I'm all ears!
Thanks!

X-23 Reference 

My Zbrush Sketch of X-23's body 

Zbrush Sketch of X-23's Head
I'm super excited to move forward with this sculpt, but I would like some critique telling me what I should improve on.

Replies

• HorizonWave
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • oreoorbitz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oreoorbitz polycounter lvl 9
    Good start man, I don't have much time, but I'll  try to be as helpfull as possible, i'll focus on my strong point, which is the head.

Personally, for a good head, I think they're 5 main points.
    Proportions
    Boney landmarks
    Fatty forms
    Features
    Underlying muscles

start with proportions.

Paint over bellow, I only did the front view because I don't have time to do the paint over in the other perspectives.

So if you break up the vertical proportion of the head in head in 4 chunks, the second chunk from the bottom is usually the distance from the bottom of the nose to the top of the to the top of the brow. On your the top line of the second chunk lines up with the center of the eye, so I brought down the eye, keeping the height of the eye the same, but reducing the height of the cheek.
    I then reduce the height of the head a bit to make sure its proportions are standard.

Next is the ears, traditionally ears on a young person( they get bigger as you age) are from the bottom of the nose to the top of the brow.