Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for some Portfolio critiques

triangle
Offline / Send Message
MagicTurtle triangle
Hi, I'm an aspiring 3D environment/texture artist and I've been working really hard in the past three years with the goal of joining the industry as soon as possible. I started out as a 3D character artist only to wipe out all of my portfolio's works to transition to environments and textures a few months ago.

I'm quite happy with all the progress so far, but my portfolio still looks very amateurish to me and I kinda feel a bit stuck about what I could improve.
I'd love to step up the quality of my work and be more appealing to game studios, what advice can you give me?
Be brutal if you feel you need to, I appreciate harsh but honest critiques. Thank you very much!

https://www.artstation.com/francescocolivicchi

Replies

• RookieRay
    Offline / Send Message
    RookieRay polycounter lvl 3
    Great looking stuff so far!
    I opened the rusted metal fence prop and got a nice simple breakdown which is great but when I opened the window prop and the RE2 door there aren't any breakdowns, it's just a single image which i personally think is a little unfortunate.

You could maybe benefit from putting some of these props together in a single post called something like "props from X"

Your RDP Environment looks great but I think it's missing breakdowns, they love to talk about that kind of stuff in interviews! Maybe beef up your description too there's not much there. How long did it take, how big are textures and so on, provide some detail!
    I'd also recommend putting in what software you used to create it. 

Same with your substances, I think your work is absolutely great but I'd love to see maybe a segment of the graph.
    No one wants to see a big peice of spaghetti but maybe just a snippet of how you made a certain pattern or something like that.

I hope that helps! Breakdowns are super useful both for yourself and in interviews!