Home Technical Talk

seeking rigging and animating a face in maya workflow advice

Hi,

I have to rig and animate a face talking specific text for 30 seconds. I've to do it in Maya and it's a software I've never used before - which isn't a problem, plethora of tuts out there, but I'm to rig and animate for the first time ever as well - and I have to do it fast, project is due in 16 hours, so I have very little time to experiment (is it even realistic to make it?) The level of detail and animation quality should be something alike skyrims, so nothing too complex.

I have a low rez UVed sculpt with all the maps and textures already set up in marmoset - and I heard it's possible to render the animation inside as well?
I need distilled information. some of the questions I have.

1. what's the best way to rig it (should I rig with blend shapes or bones - or both> maybe someone know good tuts)
2. should I make it myself or should I download face controllers UI from somewhere (dunno if it's even the right question to ask)
3. Is it really possible to export all kinds of animation from Maya to marmoset for render (blend shapes or bone rig animations - doesn't matter \ is it a simple fbx export from maya to make it work? (i really would like to use marmoset to render))

4. any advice in general on how to meet this deadline and how to handle the situation

greatly appreciated - thank you!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    16 hours is really tight if you have no experience. If you're a skilled rigger, 16 hours is probably doable for Skyrim-quality animation.

Depends a lot on the topology of the mesh, if it's not made for animation you'll have lots of trouble trying to get decent weighting and deformations.

For Toolbag-specific questions, paging @EarthQuake who works there. You may also want to ask in the Marmoset section since there tend to be skilled users in there. 

• oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666