Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Ongoing Diner Scene

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
This is my first time posting here so..hi! Currently I'm working on making a diner in Blender (which I'll later export to Unreal Engine). I haven't been able to work on it full time due to other 3D projects for school but I'd appreciate for any critiques on improving it despite the likely slow pace. I'm going for a retro 50s-early 70s looking diner, however my original thought was retro-futuristic for the end as a visual story but I'm still thinking of the final idea as I'm going along. In terms of game references I've looked at Fallout, The Last of Us (tons of post-apocalyptic diner with a lot of character), and Final Fantasy XV. However my references are mostly old 60s diners, small roadside diners, and even some fast-food places like Five Guys.

Tell me what you think! This is a project I'm working along really slowly as it's more on the side than everything else I'm doing, but I also wanted to make it look really good for my portfolio for when I graduate, so I'll be doing a lot of refining here and there.

Replies

• Oxlander
    Starting blockout/structure

Closer details of table, chairs and bar area

After finalizing more details on each asset and adding temporary materials, I duplicated them to come up with the diner layout

Start of smaller props, salt and pepper shaker

Start of adding door + window frame along with frames for posters to add on the wall along with more finalized tables

Added ceiling fans as sources of light, may add other lights directly on the ceiling as I've seen is the case in some diners

• Oxlander
    In the past 2 weeks I've started working on smaller props that will be populating the place to add more life and feel more "homey" (eventually with some changes like glasses/salt shakers spilled or broken)

Napkin holder and cup

Ketchup/mustard bottle with drink menu