Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Working on Hard-Surface Weapon for the first time!!!

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hey everyone, I'm self-taught a 3D prop. artist from India. I've been doing 3D for over an year now. I haven't done weapon modeling yet! I'm more into environment prop and environments.
I'm currently working on a FPS game (we're a team of 6-8 hobbyist connected via Discord.)
I one of the two 3D artists we have in the team. I just got the task to model a 'SCAR-L' for the game! 
Clearly, It is going to be a Hero prop and will eventually get animated as well.
man! this makes me nervous!
you can check my artworks here, (https://www.artstation.com/untamed_wolf )I haven't done any intensive Hard-surface yet!
also, it is the first time, I'm posting on Polycount. 
I don't know if this post will reach you or what to expect. I'll keep on posting my WIPs everyday, whenever I'll work on it ( I have my semester end so I can't guarantee of posting every day until 22nd December)
Today, I searched for Blueprints and adjusted them in Maya and worked on the main body a bit, I have to go out for my college now, I'll continue on this tomorrow.
here's the screenshot of today's progress! (I'll do all the optimizations at the end)

Replies

• Vishesh3008
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's the first update. I was able to get some time from college and work on the model. I now started gaining some confidence and successfully managed to block out and establish the basic shape. Tomorrow's a holiday so will continue tomorrow then. (I'll do the optimizations once I finish the model)
  • Vishesh3008
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Okay, So I recently finished the model and wanted to share the final one here.
    Here are some screenshots and GIF.
    Closing this thread here with this reply.
  • fredriklars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fredriklars polycounter lvl 13