Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game WIP: The Farewell Speech

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Haley polycounter lvl 2

Hello Online World,

Back Story:

Recently, I decided to document my senior thesis process. We have a year long class, where we can work on any type of project we want. Being a 3D artist, I wanted to make an intractable environment but needed help coding so I decided to team up with one of my close friends. He is studying computer science with a focus in game development. We decided to create a VR experiences. I decided to put this on Poly Count as a way for me to reflect on my journey. I want to be able to look back, at the end of April 2020, and see how my project has transform.

The concept of our idea started off in April 2019. My partner and I sat down and thought of what we wanted. We wanted it be enjoyably for both of us and beneficial. We looked back at past thesis’s to see what went wrong and what we should avoid. We noticed that most people spent the first semester toying around with ideas and experiment on what they wanted to do, leading to the second semester being very rushed. They typically did not end up fully satisfied with their project. Therefore, we agreed that we need to come up with an idea early and spend the summer (2019) experimenting. That way we had a silicified idea before senior thesis started in the fall.

Another thing we took into consideration, when looking back at old thesis projects, was people who made games couldn’t finish them in time. That led us to not making a game. Instead we are making an experience, so we could have a polished piece at the end. One other thing I personally took into consideration was that I wanted to tell a story through my art.