Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Gordon Freeman concept

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
issam.itmk polycounter lvl 6
Hello guys & welcome to my first 3d art showcase !

Today i have decided to share my work with you, because your feedback is essential for me and for every artist, as we always try to improve our skills. So i ask for you critics and suggestion !

So this a personal project based on half life gordon freeman, heavily inspired by Daryl Mandryk concept ( The freeman ).
The main goal behind this project is to recap what i have learned in the past 3 years, as i am a junior 3d artist, trying to specialize in character creation, it's also a new avenue and technics exploration, trying to get out of my comfort zone !

enough writing for now, i will let the screenshots and screengrabs do the talking !

Software used : Zbrush, 3dsmax and the magical PureRef =)

Before starting, i am sorry for this fast / rough presentation, i didn't have in mind to share a step by step progress, and i never did, but as we learn always, i knew that it's a very important thing to show my progress !
So i promise in the next step of texturing/retopo/face i will keep you posted and updated !

• Blockout

• Mesh Cleanup and full polishing ( zsphere & zmodeler workflow )

now i decided to clean up my meshes, so i started using zsphere to have a clean topology, crease, subdiv..
Boolean was used in this process

• Object holder creation

so now i had a couple of object that needs to be created before moving to detailing phase, tactical clips, and a water bottle

for those tactial clips, i really wanted something different, every reference in the web is the same shape, form, detail.
then a water bottle maybe ? wellis was inspired by the Universal Grenade on artstation from Nazar Melnychuk and i think it was originally created by Arrimus 3D in youtube. so permission granted, model created =)