Home Career & Education

Looking for portfolio c&c

I recently graduated from a video game design program. Like a lot of these programs, it was very much crammed and I learned a mixture of design, prototyping, 2d/3d art, scripting, marketing, business management and more. Needless to say, I didn't get to practice much 3d art during the 2 years of the program. 

I'm now a graduate and I have no idea what to do and what to improve on. I've made a few drafts of my portfolio over the 1 year after school where I worked full time in a sales job at the same time, so I couldn't progress much. I applied to dozens of game/vfx companies over this year and I only got 1 call for a QA video game tester position :anguished: 

I've always wanted to do this as a career and because I'm obviously going about my portfolio the wrong way, I decided I would give my 150% this time. I quit my job and I'll be living on my savings to remake my portfolio full time for the next 5-6 months. 

I'm not sure what to work on during that time. Some people in the industry that I've met told me to only do modeling - no texture, only models with wireframe and a reel of the modeling process. Others have told me to learn Unreal and put a bunch of environments together to display environment art and knowledge of a game engine. Others tell me my portfolio is fine and I should just get the right connections to get into a studio... I honestly have no idea where to start. 

Anyway, if you have any c&c for my portfolio it would be awesome: http://abrahamsabbah.com/

My resume: https://abrahamsabbah.com/AbrahamSabbah_CV.pdf

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    First of all, dump the custom site and get on Artstation. Schools are notorious for pushing the idea of a custom site but its just unnecessary.