Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Montréal Metro Station(Laurier)

node
Offline / Send Message
Justin_G node
Hello! 

My name is Justin(nice to meet you too).
While still in school last winter, I decided that a piece I wanted to do for my portfolio was something out of my ''comfort zone'': a place in the real world.
As an artist, I always gravitated towards sci-fi and fantasy: it's in my blood! But challenges are what makes us grow and can show versatility...

Inspired by the Montreal's Laurier metro station, I began blocking this out in early January 2019. However, I just started working on it for real this past week. Of course, it's a good thing I didn't get too far into the process back then because I would have gotten lost in it or done it totally wrong. At least now, I have a much better grasp on how to organize myself. 

RULES: The setup

It's important when starting a project to set ground rules. No matter where you look, which tutorial you follow or whatnot, a good approach that is usually spoken of and that I agree with is: Set your limits and deadlines. If you want to work in games or any other creative discipline: this is inescapable. You have to learn what makes it in and what gets cut. For example, in this case, I MIGHT not end up modeling the mice that you can sometimes see running on the platform on an early Sunday morning.  ;) 

Also, by limits, I mean: ''How far am I willing to go in terms of detail with the time that I impose upon myself?" 
I have given myself between 2 and 4 weeks to complete the project. 

My goals in order of priority(ideally): 
-Improve my Designer skills(The metro stations have wonderful substances to recreate!)
-Deepen my understanding of modular thinking gin a real world.
-Recreate the environment from reference so that it is immediately recognizable. Not everything can make it into the final version(there are so many unique, little devices. Especially in the tunnel!)