Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feedback Request

Hello! This is my first time posting here and I want to say thanks for taking the time to read this. I graduated from college 5 months ago with a game design & development degree and now that my summer job is over I am taking some time to make my portfolio professional quality so that companies can take me seriously. I've got a long ways to go but I am trying to get better at my 3D artwork. My goal is to create at least 10 high quality models, professional level models. I've started with a pumpkin gourd because I'm in the spirit of fall festivities, and I worked on a farm and grabbed a couple so that I could really study them. I model using Maya and Mudbox.
Here's some renders; from top to bottom they are the front, right side, back, top, and a closeup of the stem. My main concerns are these:

1) What more should I do to this model to increase its quality before detailing it in Mudbox? Add more geometry? Any techniques you guys can share that would be helpful?
2) While I want to really specialize in modeling, is it beneficial to texture the object if I am going to show it off on a portfolio? Basically, is it needed or should I focus on just the modeling?

Replies

• JamesBrisnehan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesBrisnehan polycounter
    If you are going to take it into a sculpting software like Mudbox, the most important thing is for your model to have fairly uniform polygons, and if possible, no triangles. You pretty much just want squares of the same size. Any polys that are too stretched, too concave, too N-gon, too banded, too . . . anything can cause issues when sculpting. The details you've modeled into your stem might make sculpting more challenging. I use Mudbox as well, so I know how to deal with some of it's quirks. Once you have finished sculpting your high-res, you can bring one of it's mid level subdivisions back into Maya to retopologize and get the edge flow you want.