Home Career & Education

How to be a team player?

ned_poreyra
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
ned_poreyra polycounter lvl 4
I see this mentioned a lot in youtube videos about getting a job or interviewing, but I'm not sure if I understand what people really mean. There must be something tricky to it, because being a team player while working in a team sounds like an obvious and self-explanatory idea. No one gives an advice like "be clean and sober when you come to work", because it's obvious, then why do they give an advice like "be a team player"?

For me being a team player means:
1. Solve as many problems as possible in the shortest amount of time.
2. Don't create more problems.

So, if I'm a 3D modeler, my job is to create as many models as possible (as "no 3D models" is the problem I'm solving), up to the standard, as fast as I can. If possible, I shouldn't bother other people with problems I encounter (hence it would generate problems for them to solve).
I have rather terrible social skills (i.e. no social skills, I'm basically a robot), so I thought I'll ask here.

Replies

• oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    Some Artists out there does just ignore there Lead, Artdirector, Client and the pipeline.
    Thats here sometimes a problem. But such "Teamplayers" wont work long at a studio.
    The "im that good i know what im doing" attitude does work if you are a freelancer or working alone.
    Some workflows or design decisions arnt that good, clever or fast but you have to follow the rules of the Lead, Artdiretor or Pipeline. A good teamplayer does find a way to communicate that there is a better way or design but does not ignore the Studio way of doing things.
  • CrackRockSteady
    -the ability to give and take criticism with grace
    -willingness to help other team members if needed, and have a good attitude about it