Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Learning to sculpt full human figures.

Hey everyone,

I am just starting out in learning to sculpt and design in general and have started this male human model. Had a lot of difficulty getting the shape of a body down but managed to get to this point on my own. 

Was hoping for some feedback and tips that might help me improve. Thank you in advance to anyone willing to look it over. 

Replies

• JohannesAg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohannesAg greentooth
    Assuming that you are going for realistic proportions, the average body is roughly seven and a half heads tall. Measuring by that will give you the position for some important landmarks, the position of the bellybutton is for example three heads down but yours is way lower than that. My advice would be to go back and fix the large proportion issues first :)  If you are using dynamesh then just keep to a low resolution for this stage, there´s no need for a dense mesh when doing the large shapes   https://i.pinimg.com/originals/1c/27/ef/1c27efea83185a4860269840ff18f9b6.jpg   - here are some measurement refs
  • kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    Hey good start!
    Good advice from  JohannesAg.  To help with the proportions what you could do is get a copy of DAZ (its free) and pose one of their scanned figures and place that under your zBrush. Then use the transparent interface feature and look at how your model differs. 

When starting out its kind of hard to use dynamesh for characters because you are going to go too high rez too early and you cant flip between densities. I'd check out the zsphere method you'll be less likely to get a lumpy result.
  • Okamishinzou
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @JohannesAg and @kanga Thank you so much for the feedback. It is really appreciate it