Home Career & Education

What are your main struggles when it comes to getting a job in the games industry?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
YF_Sticks polycounter lvl 5
Hello everyone,

Currently, I am trying to help students who want to get into the games industry and I'm doing some research. It can be a tough process and the more we all can support each other, the better! :smile:

So my main questions to you are:

- As a student (at Uni or self-taught), what are the 2 biggest issues you're dealing with when it comes to getting a job?
- Regarding your education, what would you wish for more than anything else?

Thanks so much in advance - Looking forward to reading your answers!

Replies

• TheGabmeister
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheGabmeister interpolator
    Hello. I'm not a student, but I have mentored 3D environment art students in the past. Below are 2 things they shared with me. These might be true only in my region, Southeast Asia.

1. Industry workflows. In my region, there is a shortage of skilled artists with AAA experience who are willing to teach in university. I think this is because these artists are already fully loaded with tasks. This means that the available instructors, who are not yet veterans, teach only the basics. An example is an instructor teaching how to use Substance Painter and Designer. but not teaching how to create trim sheets, texture atlases, and packed textures.
    2. Instructors requiring students to make things that are not that important. I've seen students who were required to create and use their own portfolio website even though everybody here agrees that we should all use ArtStation. Moreover, there are students who are required to create demo reels even though a video format is not the most suitable for showcasing their portfolio. The students should instead spend time on the things that really matter.