Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Jums

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
jums polycounter lvl 4
Hi! My name is James and I'm a 3D artist based in the UK. Finally decided trying to be actually active on this site so I figured beginning a sketchbook is as good a start as any! Expect lots of handpainted props

Mostly going to be WIP stuff with finished projects available on my ArtStation.
I'm here to learn and improve so feedback and critique is always welcome!

Currently we're doing a 3D rendition of some Hearthstone card art:
Original piece is 'Spirit of the Raptor' by Christopher Hayes (https://www.artstation.com/artwork/mqzQzY).

So already well on its way to being finished, it's mostly just finalising textures. A little ambivalent about the 'bone hook' things but we'll see how they go when I've rendered out their textures. Very much trying to make something that could be seen in World of Warcraft proper.

Replies

• jums
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jums polycounter lvl 4
    Today's update: Additional rendering of the gold, pushed the highlights on the leather some more, as well as iterating the bone hooks. Removed the 'holey' object within the ring as I really couldn't make sense of it within the piece. All that's left now is some additional rendering on the hooks, another pass on the leather, some touches on the feathers, as well as softening the ridges along the big tusks. Then we're just about done!

I also managed to do some cheeky sketches for flail designs, during which the idea of a 'necromancer's flail' occured to me - a nice project for October, perhaps? They're very quick drawings, really just to get ideas out of my system. I think I'd like to come up with some shield designs to go with the flail before I draw up a more final, polished concept.

• jums
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jums polycounter lvl 4