Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Help Wanted] Stylized stones

Hi folks,
I'm a total beginner, and trying to learn how to sculpt stylized styles (Orb/FAF style specifically).
After watching a bunch of tutorials and practice practice practice, here's what I came up with.
I feel that I'm missing something entirely, because I can't even get anywhere close the looks of their stones, and would love if someone could help me understand what I'm doing wrong. I do understand that is a matter of practice, and willing to put in as much as needed, but I also would like to practice the "right" thing, rather than trimdynamic stones for weeks obtaining the same result over and over again.
I did use reference (both real stones and orb renders), but probably not enough, that's something I can surely improve.
Variance/Randomness is probably something i can also improve upon.
Thank you for your time
Here's a render in zBrush for feedback

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    First off, lemme say, this ain't bad. Looks like stone! A lot of the heavy pulling will be done by texturing. If you were to texture this and throw it into a toony scene, it would read as stone for sure. That being said;
    - Some variance in the bevel width would be nice.
    - Increase the depth of your cracks by upping the brush strength.
    - Use trim smooth borders (one of my favourite stone brushes) to flatten off some of the corners. I actually use this brush over Orb's flatten brush. Make sure to put a square alpha on it.
    - Rotate a cube or two to break up the flat continuation you got in the front. I also feel you could be a bit more extreme with pushing the blocks around in order to break up the silhouette.