Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[FINISHED] Medieval Monastery - Environment diorama

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
stefanWilliams_C polycounter lvl 4
Hi! This is my first time posting here, but I just wanted to see if I could get some feedback for my current environment project.

The concept of this project is entirely original, mainly inspired by some places visited on holiday and environment art in Warhorse's Kingdom Come: Deliverance. The ultimate goal for this project is to learn more about Environment production, specifically, Asset density, composition, textures & lighting and colour. 
The environment dioramas created by Anya Elvidge have really motivated me to have a crack at something similar  :)  

I'm still warming up to Substance Painter (I'm enjoying it immensely so far! =) ). For reference, I have around 4 years experience in Autodesk Maya and UE4 and 2 years in Mudbox.

My main inspiration for the design of this environment came from Kingdom Come's Sasau monastery. I really liked the way they portrayed the realism of medieval architecture but i also wanted to apply a slightly fantastical/stylized twist to the overall Silhouette, as can be seen in the Tower diorama reference above. 
The photos are some references from my holiday where I got the initial idea to make a medieval monastery environment. 

Here is my concept! I am not going for a flat-shading style in the material style, I want more realistic textures (see Kingdom Come: Deliverance) against the simplistic, stylized geometry/silhouette seen in the concept. 

So far I've already produced a block out of the building diorama, I wanted to figure out a way to create a 'dynamic' silhouette which can look effective from 360 degrees. 
For me, one of the biggest challenges of this project is the addition of an interior to the exterior of the building. At the moment, I have two detached meshes for exterior and interior walls.