Home Coding, Scripting, Shaders

Game Development

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hello everyone...I was wondering if someone  could give me some tips to start game programming. I have no experience in coding so I would love it if some of you guys could get me started....

Replies

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Most important skill is paying close attention to details.

You missed a couple so far. 1. this is an artist centered forum. 2. there is a subforum for coding. 3. google will return you many answers to this question.

Unity is a good place to start. They have a learn section with plenty of beginner focused tutorials, and the forum there is very accomodating to beginners and full of programmers, mostly.

Also the unreal forums, however unreal works with a more advanced scripting language which may be harder for a beginner.

Microsoft puts out really  good tutorials called "absolute beginners guide to c#", though htat won't be game centric. Still probably the easiest way to get to grips with syntax.

• sacboi
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    I'd suggest either for writing tools, game mechanics/logic, asset pipeline scripting....etc, getting to grips with an OOP (high level) language as the most fundemental introduction for a novice to acquire, so with that said I'll recommend Python which has a fairly straightforward learning curve for those new to programming and has a broad scope in terms of adoption across proprietry software alongside OSS as well.

EDIT:
    I'll drop some pertnent links as I'm on a phone at work when I've a spare moment that'll provide a general overview.
  • poopipe
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    tbf - OP picked the right section of the forum and actually, this is probably a good place to get novice advice cos most of us are not proper coders :D