Home Career & Education

Working for peanuts, feel trapped.

Victor_Pascow
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Victor_Pascow triangle
Sorry for the long rant, but I need some situational career advice.

Long story short, I started learning 3D art full-time 2.5 years ago, compiled a decent portfolio and felt ready so I moved across the country to Los Angeles in the Fall of last year to "chase the dream" and finally, after 3-4 months of non-stop job searching, constant stress and much self-doubt, landed a 3-month unpaid internship with a small VR studio that just ended at the beginning of June. Afterwards, the studio liked me enough - and the feelings were quite mutual - that they offered me a paid project to be completed in three separate phases, which was to be completed by early October. I can't discuss the details of the project, as I signed an NDA, but suffice to say, I am recreating a large-scale environment based off a real-world location from American history using whatever reference images exist from that time period.