Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Cello model, feedback needed and appreciated

Hello all! I'm fairly new to 3-D design and animation, but so far I've loved every second of it (I'm currently studying at Drexel University and just finished my first year.) This cello is a piece from my final project, and is one of my favorite pieces so far. I'd really appreciate any constructive feedback you guys have for me moving forward from this. 

Replies

• Carabiner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Carabiner greentooth
    Hey there, this is going to be a pretty long response. I'm a 3D artist who has also played the cello for almost 20 years, so this post is ... extremely relevant to my interests. In terms of Polycount-specific stuff, I'd recommend embedding images in your post instead of attaching for the future. Just easier for people to view that way.

Here's some terminology that I will be using throughout:

For the cello itself, the side curves ("c-ribs" or "c-bouts") aren't quite the right shape. You can get a really accurate top-down view by checking out photos of old makers' instruments, like this one: 

I'd also very carefully check proportions against this image, or another like it. Overlay this with your model in an orthographic view. Measurements for string instruments like this are pretty exact, and although individual instruments may vary slightly, the overall shape is very precise and distinctive. Nailing this will really help the believably. Also make sure you're looking at images of cellos, not violins, because the proportions are a bit different!

There are many other minor proportion and shape issues here, so I'd go over your model and compare parts to the image I pasted above. Here are a few examples:
    • The back of the "neck" is very planar in your rendition, but in actuality it's a curved shape - check it out in the middle view above, of the back piece straight-on. 
    • The neck/fingerboard looks too wide and also maybe short